8th January, 2020

Progress 8

Progress 8 is the Government measure for comparing school outcomes at KS4. It replaces the old benchmark level for comparing schools which was previously the percentage of pupils achieving five or more GCSEs at C grade or above including English and Maths.

The new measure of Progress 8 compares grades in 8 subjects compared to average grades for pupils of similar ability nationally.

Progress 8 stipulates that grades for each pupil are counted in English and Maths ( each double weighted), 3 subjects from MFL, Computer Science, Science, History or Geography and 3 more from any subject area. the best grades are counted and any extra grades are ignored.

A video explaining Progress 8 and how it works is attached to this article.

Progress 8 Simple Breakdown

Progress 8 (Youtube) (DfE)

Progress 8 Explained (DfE)