8th January, 2020

GCSE Reform (9-1 Grades)

GCSE grades are changing
GCSEs in England are being reformed and will be graded with a new scale from 9 to 1, with 9 being the highest grade. English literature, English language and maths will be the first subjects to be graded in this way from August 2017. The subjects with the highest numbers of candidates (e.g. arts, humanities, languages) will follow in 2018 and most others in 2019. This is happening as GCSEs are being reformed to make them more challenging, to keep pace with employers’ and universities’ demands.

In the first year each new GCSE subject is introduced, students who would have got a grade C or better will get a grade 4 or better. Students who would have got a Grade A or better will get a 7 or better in the first year. Grade 9 will be more difficult to achieve than a grade A*. The extra top grade will also make it easier for employers and universities to distinguish between the most able students

Ofqual have created a brief comparison of the numbered grades to the current A* to G system. More information about when subjects will switch to the new grades is also available on the Ofqual website.

Grades 7-9 Breakdown
Ofqual Parent Flyer.pdf
9-1 Grades (.Gov) UPDATED
GCSE Reform (DfE)